On 11th March Facebook released a statement to confirm that they would be removing some users from page like counts, meaning that if you run a business page, chances are you’re going to lose at least some followers.
However, the actual impact of this appears to have been greatly exaggerated by some (understandably) confused Facebook users. What do I mean?
- Firstly you’re almost certainly not going to lose a significant number of followers.
- Secondly, you don’t need your followers to ‘save’ or ‘favorite’ your page in order to stay connected, nice try though.
So what is going to happen? Lets just take a look at what Facebook actually said before we get all worked up….
To make audience data even more meaningful for businesses, we’re updating the way Page likes are counted by removing memorialised and voluntarily deactivated accounts from Pages’ like counts. This change ensures that data on Facebook is consistent and up-to-date.
As you can see, the only account’s they’ll be ‘removing’ are accounts that are already inactive in one way or another. They also say further down that page that any reactivated pages will be added back to your like count. So this isn’t really a crisis at all and in reality it’s something that will have absolutely no negative impact whatsoever on your bottom line. Strictly speaking it may actually have a positive impact, since your insight date will now be that bit more accurate, albeit by a very tiny amount.
So there you have it folks, your hard earned likes (at least the legitimate ones) are as safe as ever.